Lois Cowles Harrison
Center for the Visual
and Performing Arts

Academic Calendar

Bell Schedule
7:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.

If you require any type of accommodation for an event sponsored by the Polk County School District, accomodation requests must be made at least 72 hours in advance of the event. To arrange accommodation, contact the School or department sponsoring the event. For assistance, contact the Office of Equity & Compliance in Human Resources Services at 863-534-0513. If you are hearing or speech impaired, pleae contact the agency by calling Florida Relay Service at 1-800-955-8771.

Please note these important dates!

Orientation – Thursday, August 20, 2015

First Day of School for Students – Monday, August 24, 2015

Class Meetings – Friday August 28, 2015

Senior Parent Meeting – Thursday, September 3, 2015 at 7:00 p.m.

Holiday (Labor Day)  – Monday, September 7, 2015

Senior Photos (Final) – Tuesday, September 8, 2015

Underclassman Photos -Wednesday, September 9, 2015

Harrison Parents’ Association  Meeting – Monday, September 14 at 7:00 p.m. in the Harrison Film Theatre

Student Early Release – Wednesday, September 16, 2105

Interim Report – Thursday, September 24, 2015

Open House – Thursday, September 24, 2015 at 5:00 p.m.

Fall Dance – Fire & Ice – Saturday, September 26, 7:00 p.m. – 11:00 p.m. in the Lakeland Senior High Gym

Student Holiday ( Staff Development) – Monday, September 28, 2015

Photo Retakes – Tuesday, October 6, 2015

Student Early Release – Wednesday, October 14, 2105

Student Holiday (Teacher Work Day) – Monday, October 19, 2015

Harrison National Honor Society Induction -Tuesday, October 20, 2015 at 7:00 p.m.

PSAT – Wednesday, October 28, 2015

Report Cards – Tuesday, November 10, 2015

School Holiday (Veteran’s Day) – Wednesday, November 11, 2015

Student Early Release – Wednesday, November 18, 2015

Holidays ( Thanksgiving) – Monday, November 23 – Friday, November 27, 2015

Interim Reports – Thursday, December 10, 2015

HSA Informational Meeting – December 16, 2015 at 7:00 p.m.

Winter Break – Monday, December 21, 2015 – Friday, January 1, 2016

Parents’ Association General Meeting – Monday, January 11, 2016 at 7:00 p.m. in the MPA Theatre

Student Early Release – Wednesday, January 13, 2016

School Holiday ( Dr. Martin Luther King Day) -Monday, January 18, 2016

Financial Aide Night – Thursday, January 21, 2016 at 7:00 p.m.

Student Holiday (Teacher Work Day) – Monday, January 25, 2016

Harrison Auditions – January 26 – 29, 2016 and February 1 – 5, 2016

Report Cards – Thursday, February 4, 2016

PSAT Night – Tuesday, February 9 at 7:00 p.m.

School Holiday (President’s Day) – Monday, February 15, 2016

Student Early Release – Wednesday, February 24, 2016

Staff Development Day – Friday, February 26, 2016

Interim Reports – Thursday, March 3, 2016

Spring Break – Monday, March 21 – Friday, March 25, 2016

New Student Orientation – Tuesday, March 29, 2016 at 7:00 p.m.

Student Early Release – Wednesday, April 6, 2016

Report Cards – Tuesday, April 19, 2016

Interim Reports – Thursday, May 12, 2016

9th Grade Awards Ceremony – Tuesday, May 17, 2016 at 6:00 p.m.

10th – 11th Grade Awards Ceremony – Tuesday, May 17, 2016 at 7:30 p.m.

Student Early Release – Wednesday, May 18, 2016

School Holiday (Memorial Day) – Monday, May 30, 2016

Senior Meeting – Wednesday, June 1, 2016 at 8:00 a.m.

Seni

VIEW MORE DATES

Fine Arts Series

September
17 • Eldar Piano Trio Concert
October
3 • Voices of The People Concert: Cello-bration
8 • Ingress/Egress, Art Reception*, 6 p.m.
8 • Faculty-Student Showcase
13 • Fall Choral Concert

15 • Roland Dyens Guitar Concert
22 • Jazz Concert
27 • Guitar Concert
29 • Creative Writing Reading with Peter Meinke**
November
12 • @Identity, Art Reception*, 6 p.m.
12-15 • Fiddler on the Roof, 2 p.m. on Nov. 15
19 • Orchestra Concert
20 • Grayson Hugh Concert
December
10 • 8th-Grade Invitational, Art Reception*, 6 p.m.
11-12 • Dance Concert
17 • Music of the Season
20 • Chorale & Carillon @ Bok Tower, 7:30 p.m.
January
12 • Piano Concert
30 • Voices of the People Concert: Conversations
31 • Pinewood Rising Artists Series, Bok Tower, 5 p.m.
February
5-6 • SEU Revolution Film Festival
8 • Sister Cities Art Exhibit*, 6 p.m.
18 • Creative Writing Reading**
19 • Senior Visual Art Exhibit at PMoA, 6 p.m.
March
4 • Convergence, Art Reception*, 6 p.m.
4-6 • Crazy for You, 2 p.m. on March 6
8 • Choral Chamber Concert
12 • Red Carpet Gala, 7 p.m.
17 • Chamber Music Concert at FSC
31 • Wind Ensemble Concert
April
12 • Guitar Concert
14 • Piano Concert
15 • Prototype, Art Reception*, 6 p.m.
15-16 • Short-Film Showcase, 2 p.m. and 7 p.m. on April 16
17 • Pinewood Rising Artists Series, Bok Tower, 5 p.m.
22-24 • Radium Girls***, 2 p.m. on April 24
29-30 • Dance Concert
May
3 • Literary Magazine Presentation**
5 • Chorus Concert
12 • Orchestra Concert
19 • Jazz Concert
May-June 2016 • Clyde Butcher Exhibit*
*Harrison Art Gallery
**Harrison Film Theatre
***Harrison Black Box Theatre

 

The box office will open one hour and thirty minutes prior to curtain on the dates of the performances. The house will open approximately thirty minutes prior to curtain. Credit cards (Visa/MasterCard) are accepted on-line and at the box office. The box office does not accept cash denominations of $50 or more due to county policy. Harrison performance start promptly at 7:00 p.m. for evening performances and 2:00 p.m. for matinees regardless of a line at the box office window. If you wish to purchase tickets the day of the performance, please plan on arriving no later than 6:30 p.m. for evening performances and 1:30 p.m. for matinees in order to park, get tickets, and see the entire performance.

<

VIEW MORE DATES

Harrison News

Season Sponsor

IMPORTANT NEWS AND UPDATES

2016-17 Application/Audition Information

For a downloadable PDF of the 16-17 Audition Packet click HERE
For a PDF of the Recommendation Forms click HERE
PLEASE NOTE: Even though the PDF forms can be sent via email to the person completing the form, the two (2) forms MUST be printed out, sealed in an envelope, signed across the back, AND turned in with the application itself. NO forms will be accepted independent of an application – this means forms CANNOT be emailed to the school.

 


Nomination forms for the 2016 Harrison Hall of Fame can be downloaded HERE


2015 Legacy Brick orders can be made online HERE or a form can be dowloaded HERE


Fostering Creativity for a Lifetime

The Lois Cowles Harrison Center for the Visual and Performing Arts represents the finest in arts-education in Polk County. In addition to student and public spaces, a 95,000 square-foot expansion completed in 2008 has technologically-advanced stages, studios, and classrooms. The multi-million dollar complex provides necessary enhancements of existing programs and space for future expansion, as well as potential for the addition of new programs.

Harrison is a public school of choice with enrollment by audition only. Past graduates have attended such prestigious post-secondary institutions as Harvard University, The Juilliard School, The Cooper Union, Eastman School of Music, Southern Methodist University, New York University, Manhattan School of Music, DePaul University, and Princeton to name just a few. Harrison alumni have gone on to star in major Broadway productions, be featured on network television programs, pursue roles in professional dance companies, and be successful practicing visual artists.

facebook

polklogomission

ASN2015memberlogo_web     Polk Arts Alliance     Fla Artsmakeup school